DoorYard vs HomeAdvisor: how do they compare?

Short answer

To evaluate DoorYard vs HomeAdvisor, select DoorYard for direct contractor discovery without middleman lead fees, or HomeAdvisor if you want automated quote distribution across multiple service pros. While HomeAdvisor recruits service providers to buy consumer repair leads, service pros on its network typically pay a $287.99 annual membership fee plus separate per-lead fees. Contractors must weigh these costs against conversion efficiency, whereas homeowners should decide whether they prefer direct contact or shared outreach.

Contractor and homeowner discussing renovations near exposed wall framing and subflooring in a suburban living room.
Service providers joining HomeAdvisor's network generally pay an annual membership fee of $287.99 in addition to a separate fee for each lead received. (www.ftc.gov)

“Service providers who join HomeAdvisor’s network generally pay an annual membership fee of $287.99, in addition to a separate fee for each lead they receive.”

Federal Trade Commission

Core Comparison Between DoorYard and HomeAdvisor#

Homeowners and contractors face a fundamental choice between direct discovery directories and aggregated pay-per-lead networks. To evaluate DoorYard vs HomeAdvisor: how do they compare, practitioners must examine the core mechanics of monetization, user workflows, and contractor economics. HomeAdvisor functions by recruiting service providers into its network and selling them leads to contact potential customers for home maintenance and repair projects (ftc.gov).

A direct directory model lets property owners browse verified profiles and initiate contact directly with local crews. In contrast, lead generation brokers capture project details through digital intake forms and resell those inquiries across their contractor base. Angi bought and integrated the brand, operating as Angi Leads and HomeAdvisor Powered by Angi while keeping this core distribution setup (ftc.gov).

Operational Dimension Direct Directory Model (DoorYard Approach) Aggregated Lead Brokerage (HomeAdvisor)
Monetization Mechanism Direct local connection Per-lead fees and annual membership (ftc.gov)
Contractor Network Structure Direct profile engagement Network recruitment for lead resale (ftc.gov)
Workflow Dynamic Direct consumer outreach Automated matching via task and geography (ftc.gov)
Customer Contact Routing Direct contractor communication Sold to service providers to contact users (ftc.gov)

The differing workflows between direct directories and aggregated lead brokers fundamentally alter how contractors manage their operational overhead. While a directory focuses on discovery, lead brokers monetize the transaction by functioning as an intermediary. Evaluating both systems requires looking closely at total platform expenses and lead routing mechanics.

HomeAdvisor Costs, Lead Routing, and Contractor Economics#

HVAC technician kneeling by an outdoor heat pump condenser unit beside a brick house, tools on a mat.

Lead generation describes the business process of identifying, collecting, and qualifying consumer interest in order to sell that contact data to businesses. HomeAdvisor structures its commercial platform around this mechanism. For homeowners searching for project quotes and local contractor information, the platform is completely free to use (consumeraffairs.com).

The financial burden rests on the service professional. According to the Federal Trade Commission, service providers joining HomeAdvisor's network generally pay an annual membership fee of $287.99 (ftc.gov) in addition to a separate fee for each lead received. ConsumerAffairs notes that contractors pay a membership fee of around $300 (fatcatstrategies.com) per year, plus additional fees per lead ranging from $15 to $60 (consumeraffairs.com).

  1. Homeowner submits project request
  2. Task and geography evaluated
  3. Request sent to 3 to 5 pros
  4. Contractors compete to call

Lead Pricing and Tier Structures#

HomeAdvisor prices its leads primarily according to the type of task and the location of the service request, with higher consideration tasks priced higher than lower consideration tasks (ftc.gov). A major structural remodel carries a substantially higher lead fee than a routine cleaning job. Pipeline On reports that lead directory platforms typically charge contractors $15 to $100 (pipelineon.com) per lead depending on the trade, geography, and project size. Fat Cat Strategies reports that Angi Leads, formerly HomeAdvisor, charges contractor lead fees typically ranging from $15 to $85 per lead based on trade and location (fatcatstrategies.com).

Total Upfront Cost = Annual Membership + Lead Fee

If an HVAC installer pays an annual fee of $287.99 (ftc.gov) and purchases 20 leads at an illustrative rate of $50 (fatcatstrategies.com) per lead, the direct cash outlay equals $287.99 + (20 × $50) = $1,287.99 (workzen.io).

The Shared Lead Model and Lead Quality#

A shared lead model is an intake system where a single homeowner inquiry is distributed simultaneously to multiple competing service professionals. RapidDev reports that HomeAdvisor typically sells the same lead simultaneously to 3 to 5 competing contractors (rapidevelopers.com). On platforms like Thumbtack or HomeAdvisor, a homeowner's quote request is sent simultaneously to 3 to 5 contractors in the area who each pay for the same lead, as reported by NextPhone (getnextphone.com).

Because multiple firms pay for the identical customer, each professional enters an immediate bidding race. One industry evaluation published by WorkZen rates the lead quality of platforms like HomeAdvisor at 5 out of 10 (workzen.io). Contractors face rising customer acquisition cost because lead fees are non-refundable even when the consumer hires a competitor or abandons the project.

Cost per acquisition refers to the total marketing and sales expenditure required to secure a single paying client. In a shared pay-per-lead ecosystem, the effective customer acquisition cost scales rapidly if close rates fall.

Regulatory Actions and Privacy Considerations in Lead Distribution#

The regulatory landscape surrounding high-volume consumer inquiry routing has faced severe legal scrutiny. In April 2023, the FTC finalized a consent order requiring HomeAdvisor to pay $7.2 million USD (en.wikipedia.org) and prohibiting false or misleading claims regarding its leads. The Commission prohibited misrepresentations that leads concerned individuals who were ready to hire a service provider or who had submitted a request for home services directly to HomeAdvisor.

Homeowner privacy disclosures govern this data syndication process. Standard CCPA and TCPA disclaimers displayed at or above website submit buttons state that HomeAdvisor and its affiliates, as well as their networks of Service Professionals, may deliver marketing calls or texts to the user's phone number (en.wikipedia.org). When homeowners fill out a single online form, their personal phone numbers and project descriptions are broadcast across commercial networks.

When marketplaces monetize user contact data as a commodity, platform incentives detach from long-term service quality.

When platforms syndicate homeowner phone numbers to multiple businesses, homeowners experience immediate communication fatigue from repetitive calls.

Factors to Evaluate in Lead-Gen and Shared Lead Systems#

A plumbing contractor reaches into the back of a service utility van to grab a pipe wrench from organized shelves.

Choosing the right marketing channel requires evaluating the trade-offs between shared aggregator models and exclusive customer acquisition. Exclusive leads refer to homeowner inquiries routed to exactly one service professional, removing internal multi-bid wars. Conferbot reports that lead generation platforms such as Angi and HomeAdvisor deliver leads at a cost of $25 to $75 (conferbot.com) per lead, which are shared with multiple contractors without guaranteed exclusivity.

Because Angi and HomeAdvisor route each lead to multiple competitors at once-a multi-contractor dynamic detailed above-Conferbot notes that contractors compete directly for the same homeowner (conferbot.com). In such crowded bidding environments, conversion rate depends heavily on instant outreach. Conversion rate measures the percentage of prospective customer leads that successfully sign a paid project contract.

Without an automated call intake system, a professional working on a job site risks losing the paid opportunity entirely.

Effective Customer Acquisition Cost = Lead Cost / Conversion Rate

For instance, assuming an illustrative lead cost of $50, (conferbot.com) a contractor with a 10% (dooryardapp.com) conversion rate incurs a customer acquisition cost of $50 / 0.10 = $500 (pipelineon.com).

Practical Evaluation Checklist for Trade Professionals#

Contractors evaluating marketing platforms should complete this structured assessment:

  1. Calculate Baseline Speed-to-Lead: Measure whether your field team can consistently achieve the higher conversion rate unlocked by responding within 5 minutes, as detailed above (getnextphone.com).
  2. Review Overhead Subscriptions: Balance fixed membership dues against variable per-lead charges, discussed above (ftc.gov; pipelineon.com).
  3. Audit Exclusivity Protections: Verify whether inquiries are exclusive or shared among multiple competing contractors, covered above (rapidevelopers.com).
  4. Inspect Data Consent Workflows: Review whether homeowner submission pages utilize multi-party TCPA phone disclaimers (en.wikipedia.org).

For local home service professionals and property owners, the decision hinges on operational control. Trade businesses seeking steady project volume can examine their current close rates against these verified platform metrics to protect their bottom-line profitability.

Comparison of reported contractor fees and lead pricing ranges across industry and regulatory sources - Annual Membership / Base FeeFTC Press Release: $287.99 (plus optional $59.99 membership add-on); ConsumerAffairs: Around $300/year; Pipeline On: $300 to $500/month (typical spend); Fat Cat Strategies (Angi Leads): Minimum monthly budget of ~$300FTC Press Release$287.99 (plus optional $59.99 membership add-on)ConsumerAffairsAround $300/yearPipeline On$300 to $500/month (typical spend)Fat Cat Strategies (Angi Le…Minimum monthly budget of ~$300
Comparison of reported contractor fees and lead pricing ranges across industry and regulatory sources
Comparison of reported contractor fees and lead pricing ranges across industry and regulatory sources
SourceAnnual Membership / Base FeePer-Lead Fee RangeLead Pricing Factors
FTC Press Release$287.99 (plus optional $59.99 membership add-on)Separate fee per lead (variable)Not specified
ConsumerAffairsAround $300/year$15 to $60Business location and industry
Pipeline On$300 to $500/month (typical spend)$15 to $100+Trade, geography, and project size
Fat Cat Strategies (Angi Leads)Minimum monthly budget of ~$300$15 to $85Trade and location
ConferbotNot specified$25 to $75Shared model without guaranteed exclusivity
HomeAdvisor Legal Filing (FTC Answer)Annual membershipVariable by task consideration levelTask type, request location, and local provider competition
Reported lead distribution mechanics and contractor competition across aggregator platforms - Simultaneous Contractors per LeadRapidDev: 3 to 5 contractors (competing with 2 to 4 others); WorkZen: 3 to 5 businesses; Conferbot: 3 to 5 competing contractorsRapidDev3 to 5 contractors (competing with 2 to 4 others)WorkZen3 to 5 businessesConferbot3 to 5 competing contractors
Reported lead distribution mechanics and contractor competition across aggregator platforms
Reported lead distribution mechanics and contractor competition across aggregator platforms
SourceSimultaneous Contractors per LeadLead Quality RatingSpeed-to-Lead Impact
RapidDev3 to 5 contractors (competing with 2 to 4 others)1.5 to 2 / 5 Trustpilot scoreNot specified
WorkZen3 to 5 businesses5 out of 10Instant volume with high cost and low effort
Conferbot3 to 5 competing contractorsNot specifiedHigher qualification when responding within 5 minutes

Contractor Pay-Per-Lead Economics Calculator

Calculates contractor acquisition costs, won projects, gross revenue, and return on lead spend under a pay-per-lead / shared lead network model.

Monthly Lead Spend: $1,000

Estimated Won Jobs: 2

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC): $500

Estimated Gross Revenue: $5,000

Return on Lead Spend (ROAS): 500.0%

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a US HomeAdvisor?

HomeAdvisor operates as a pay-per-lead network and business under Angi (also operating as Angi Leads and HomeAdvisor Powered by Angi) that recruits home improvement and maintenance contractors and sells them homeowner project leads. Homeowners submit service requests online for free, which the platform matches and routes to local service providers.

Sources