DoorYard vs TaskRabbit: differences and which is better?

Short answer

DoorYard and TaskRabbit solve different problems. TaskRabbit is an on-demand marketplace where you post a task, such as furniture assembly or moving help, and book a Tasker at their hourly rate plus TaskRabbit fees. DoorYard sends priced, same-day offers from lawn, snow, gutter and handyman crews already working in your neighborhood. Pick TaskRabbit for one-off indoor jobs today; pick DoorYard for recurring outdoor upkeep once it opens near you.

DoorYard vs TaskRabbit: differences and which is better?#

DoorYard and TaskRabbit both connect households with independent workers, but they start from opposite ends. On TaskRabbit, you describe a task and pick a Tasker. On DoorYard, a nearby crew with a free slot sends you a priced offer, and you tap once to book it (dooryardapp.com).

TaskRabbit is an online and mobile marketplace. It matches users who have errands with pre-approved local contractors called Taskers (aiinstitute.hbs.edu). DoorYard describes itself as a same-day home services marketplace. Service crews turn spare capacity into priced, same-day offers for nearby households who have opted in (dooryardapp.com).

Feature TaskRabbit DoorYard
Who starts the booking You post a task and choose a Tasker (aiinstitute.hbs.edu) A nearby crew sends you an offer (dooryardapp.com)
Price Tasker hourly rate plus a Service Fee and, in most states, a Trust & Support fee (support.taskrabbit.com) One price shown in the offer, set by the crew (dooryardapp.com)
Main work types Errands, moving help, assembly, cleaning (aiinstitute.hbs.edu) Lawn care, snow removal, windows, gutters, pest control, handyman (dooryardapp.com)
Worker checks Identity verification and background screening for U.S. Taskers (checkr.com) Job-based signals such as on-time rate and verified insurance (dooryardapp.com)
Problem cover Happiness Pledge, up to $10,000 per occurrence (westcoasttriallawyers.com) Not stated on DoorYard's site
Availability All 50 U.S. states, Canada and parts of Europe (uhaul.com) Waitlist; opening one neighborhood at a time (dooryardapp.com)

The short version: TaskRabbit is the better choice today for a one-off job you want to schedule yourself. DoorYard is built for routine outdoor work where a crew is already on your street. It is not yet open to the public, so check whether your area is live first.

How booking works on each platform#

TaskRabbit moved away from an early auction model in 2014. Clients had trouble setting price ceilings, so the company switched to a fixed-rate, services-on-demand system (aiinstitute.hbs.edu). Its matching algorithm now suggests Taskers based on their past behavior on the site, skill preferences, availability and schedule (techcrunch.com).

  1. You post a task
  2. TaskRabbit suggests Taskers
  3. You pick one and set a time
  4. The Tasker does the job and you are invoiced

DoorYard reverses the flow. You give your address and choose which services you want to hear about. When a crew nearby has an opening, you get one notification with the crew, the work, the time window and the price. You tap once to book, and you get proof photos and a short rating step when the job is done (dooryardapp.com).

  1. You opt in to services
  2. A crew nearby has a gap
  3. You get one priced offer
  4. One tap books it

The practical difference is control versus effort. TaskRabbit lets you choose the day and the person. DoorYard asks less of you, but you only get offers when a crew is genuinely close by.

Pricing: hourly rates plus fees vs one offer price#

TaskRabbit pricing has two layers. Taskers set their own hourly rates, so prices vary. U-Haul reports that the average rate for one Tasker is $40 per hour, citing the TaskRabbit website (uhaul.com). On top of that rate, every client pays a TaskRabbit Service Fee. It is a percentage of the hourly rate, applied to each hour worked (support.taskrabbit.com).

Most invoices also carry a separate Trust & Support fee, again a percentage of the hourly rate. In California and Massachusetts, invoices show only a Service Fee instead (support.taskrabbit.com). TaskRabbit does not publish one fixed percentage on these help pages, so check the fee lines in the app before you confirm. TaskRabbit's UK blog says Taskers keep 100% of their hourly rate plus all tips (taskrabbit.co.uk).

A simple way to estimate a TaskRabbit job:

Estimated cost = (hourly rate x hours) + Service Fee + Trust & Support fee (where shown) + local tax

DoorYard works differently. Crews set the price, and every offer goes out with that price attached. Crews pay only when a job is actually booked, never for a lead (dooryardapp.com). DoorYard's site does not state a separate fee for households, so treat the offer price as the figure to compare.

Contractor vetting framework and background screening standards#

The two platforms check workers in different ways. Prospective Taskers in the United States generally complete identity verification and a background screening step before they can accept tasks (checkr.com). That confirms who someone is. It does not prove trade skill or confirm a license.

DoorYard's vetting framework measures crews on results from completed jobs. The signals are on-time rate, repeat bookings, response speed, completion, cancellations, neighborhood loyalty, verified insurance and time on the platform. DoorYard shows them separately instead of one blended star score (dooryardapp.com). Rental hosts can filter to crews whose insurance has been verified.

Neither approach replaces your own checks for risky work. For electrical, gas or structural jobs, ask for a trade license and proof of general liability insurance before anyone starts.

Liability, general liability insurance and dispute resolution#

TaskRabbit says it is not responsible for users' actions. Its Happiness Pledge may help with property damage, theft or bodily injury during a task. If client and Tasker cannot settle a problem themselves, TaskRabbit may provide up to $10,000 per occurrence (westcoasttriallawyers.com). Clark.com describes the same $10,000 limit for property damage, bodily injury or theft under set conditions (clark.com).

DoorYard's site does not describe a damage pledge or a dispute resolution process. What it does publish is a set of privacy rules. A crew learns your address only when you accept its offer. You can be messaged only by a crew you have real booking history with. Nothing is sent outside 8:00 am to 9:00 pm local time (dooryardapp.com).

Before any job on either platform, agree on a clear scope of work in writing: what will be done, by when, and for what price. A written scope works like a small service-level agreement and makes any dispute easier to settle.

TaskRabbit customer reviews on Trustpilot#

TaskRabbit UK holds a TrustScore of 4.4 out of 5 on Trustpilot, from 24,124 reviews (trustpilot.com). Most reviewers are happy: 79% give five stars. But 10% give one star, which is a sizeable unhappy group.

DoorYard has no public review score yet because it is still opening neighborhoods one at a time (dooryardapp.com). Instead, each completed job gets a short rating on timeliness, quality and whether you would rebook.

Which is better for your home?#

Choose based on the job, not the brand.

  • Choose TaskRabbit for indoor, one-off jobs like furniture assembly, mounting a TV or moving help, especially when you need to pick the date.
  • Choose DoorYard for repeat outdoor upkeep such as mowing, snow clearing, gutters and windows, where a same-day price from a nearby crew saves you calls and quotes (dooryardapp.com).
  • Managing a home from far away? DoorYard lets family members see what was booked, what was completed and the photos that prove it.

Next step: if your need is outdoor upkeep, add your neighborhood to the DoorYard waitlist at dooryardapp.com so you are first in line when crews open on your street. If you need a job done this week, book it on TaskRabbit and check the fee lines before you confirm.

DoorYard vs TaskRabbit at a glance
DimensionTaskRabbitDoorYard
Booking modelClient posts a task and picks a Tasker (HBS AI Institute)Nearby crew sends one priced offer; one tap books it (DoorYard)
PricingTasker hourly rate plus Service Fee and, in most states, a Trust & Support fee (Taskrabbit Support)Crew sets one price shown in the offer; crews pay only for booked work (DoorYard)
ServicesErrands, moving help, assembly, cleaning (HBS AI Institute)Lawn care, snow removal, windows, gutters, pest control, handyman (DoorYard)
Worker checksIdentity verification and background screening in the U.S. (Checkr)Job-based signals including on-time rate and verified insurance (DoorYard)
AvailabilityAll 50 U.S. states, Canada and parts of Europe (U-Haul)Waitlist; one neighborhood at a time (DoorYard)
Which platform fits which job
JobBetter fitWhy
Furniture assembly or moving helpTaskRabbitYou choose the Tasker and the time (HBS AI Institute)
Weekly lawn careDoorYardCrews already on your street send same-day offers (DoorYard)
Snow removal or gutter cleaningDoorYardListed DoorYard service categories (DoorYard)
Caring for a parent's house from another stateDoorYardFamily can see bookings, completed work and proof photos (DoorYard)

Task Cost & Platform Fee Comparison Calculator

Calculates the total out-of-pocket cost for a home service task on TaskRabbit (incorporating the documented 15% platform service fee and 7.5% trust & support fee) compared to direct/transparent contractor billing (DoorYard model without client-side fee markups).

Base Contractor Labor Cost: $150

TaskRabbit Client Fees (22.5%): $34

Estimated TaskRabbit Total Cost: $184

Estimated Direct / DoorYard Total Cost: $150

Potential Direct Booking Savings: $34

Frequently Asked Questions

Is DoorYard available now?

Not everywhere yet. DoorYard opens one neighborhood at a time and runs a waitlist, and its iPhone and Android apps are listed as coming soon (DoorYard).

How does TaskRabbit charge clients?

You pay the Tasker's own hourly rate, which U-Haul reports averages $40 per hour according to the TaskRabbit website (U-Haul). TaskRabbit adds a Service Fee calculated as a percentage of that hourly rate, plus a Trust & Support fee in most states; invoices in California and Massachusetts show only a Service Fee (Taskrabbit Support).

Sources